Back to top


Harold Anderson, right, was recently installed as the 2018 president of the St. Bernard Port, Harbor & Terminal District’s Board of Commissioners. With Anderson is the Rev. Henry Ballard Jr., left, who served as the 2017 board president.

The St. Bernard Port, Harbor & Terminal District’s Board of Commissioners recently installed its new officers for the 2018 term. They are: Harold Anderson, president; the Rev. Henry Ballard, vice president; Elton LeBlanc, secretary; and Cheri Chestnut Quigley, treasurer.
Drew Heaphy, the Port’s executive director, said Board members are unpaid, volunteer commissioners who serve a one-year term and play a vital role in the Port’s operations – which includes Arabi, Chalmette and Violet Terminals/Industrial Parks, as well as Chalmette and Meraux Mid-Stream Mooring Facilities.
“Port administrators handle the day-to-day operations, but the Board is responsible for overseeing the policies, contracts and agreements that affect the overall operations of the Port,” Heaphy said.
Each year, Heaphy said, the Port handles millions of tons of bulk, break-bulk and general cargo transfers, to and from thousands of barges and hundreds of cargo ships from around the world. The Board of Commissioners helps make that possible, he said.
“The success of our Port has a huge impact on our parish’s economy,” Heaphy said. "We are fortunate to have such knowledgeable, dedicated individuals on this Board who donate their time so the Port can continue to succeed at being an economic engine for St. Bernard Parish."
For incoming Board of Commissioners President Harold Anderson, serving on the Board is his way of giving back to his hometown.
“I’m a native of St. Bernard Parish. I was born here. I was raised here. I went to school here. This is my home,” Anderson said. “To be able to do something for the betterment of my community gives me great pride.”
Anderson, who has worked as an independent consultant in the oil and gas industry for more than 40 years, has served on the board for the past eight years, holding various positions, including vice president, secretary and treasurer.